…because I just do not understand today’s generation, especially those out on the Left Coast.

I turned another year older this past week, and it seems that I always do what I would call an “internal assessment” of what I have done or witnessed in the past year or so. And this, of all things, popped out under the category of “I just don’t understand…”

Several weeks ago, I was channel-surfing and came across a “reality-show” on what I think was an MTV derivative channel. This show was holding a contest to see who, among some fairly attractive women, would become the main girlfriend of wrestler (I think) Shawn Michaels. Curious, I watched long enough to see the following.

Shawn left his girlfriend-to-be contestants in a room while he went off to perform. Of course, the girls decided to party, becoming quite inebriated along the way. He comes back to find just about everyone wasted, and one girl getting very sick. He helps her to the restroom just in time to have her heave the contents of her stomach into the porcelain god. During this episode, she turns her head and tells him “I love you” before turning her head back to heave some more.

In a stand alone cut-away where the he is commenting on the party and subsequent throne visits by this girl. His comment (and I’m paraphrasing here) is that while he was helping this girl throw up into the john, she turned to him and said, “I love you.” He then stated that that “was one of the most romantic moments of my life.”

!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

One of the most romantic moments of his life? Is he nuts, or is he just hamming it up for the cameras? But on further reflection, I wouldn’t doubt it.

I know that if I helped a gal throw up in a toilet from having too much to drink (and I have), the last thing on my mind is romance. And having the gal tell me that she loved me at that very moment would make me think that it’s the alcohol talking. The last person that I would want as a girlfriend is someone who can’t control themselves and drinks themselves sick.

But then again, I’m an old fart with outdated values who doesn’t know anything about today’s world…

What passes today as entertainment does not teach our children about life, real life. Entertainment today passes off the ridiculous and profane as normal, which it is anything but. But with today’s TV generation, and the parents either absent because of jobs or indifference, the TV now becomes a teaching window on life. And the children now model this behavior.

Why else is there the inability to understand that every little problem cannot be solved in an hour or less? Then there is the increased reporting of violence to resolve problems (more school-related shootings, for instance). And then there is the over-reliance on computers and technology to solve the problems of the world if not the individual. It may sound idealistic and very Star Trek, but reality has been skewed to the equivalent of sound bites on the 6 o’clock news. More’s the pity.

Our society, in general, appears to be headed to Hell in the hand-basket on the express-train, and no one seems to care. I found this quote (in part) over at Praesidium Respublicae which seems to sum up our society:

The average of the world’s great civilizations has been 200 years. These nations have progressed through this sequence: from bondage to spiritual faith; from spiritual faith to great courage; from courage to liberty; from liberty to abundance; from abundance to selfishness; from selfishness to complacency; from complacency to apathy; from apathy to dependency; from dependency back again to bondage.

I think where we are at is somewhere in the selfishness / complacency / apathy portion, and are rapidly descending to the dependence mode. Independence is rapidly becoming passe, where self-reliance is seen more as an aberration than an asset. And if in doubt, let someone else (preferably the Government) take responsibility for it. The mantra seems to be: “Live for now, and let the future take care of itself.” Somehow, I cannot do that. It isn’t the way I was brought up, nor is it in my nature to have someone else control my life. I value my independence. But I digress once again…

Reality is not a TV show. It doesn’t follow a story-line, and all the characters in the white hats do not live happily ever after. It is unfair and very biased. There are no guarantees, no reruns, and the channel cannot be changed. It is hard, but with the right breaks and hard work, it can be comfortable. The Declaration of Independence stated that:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Not everyone will be happy, nor will they be a success. Sometimes the best you can do is hold your own because happiness is not a sure thing. It can be worked at and achieved with difficulty, but there are no guarantees. And TV distorts this reality.

If happiness is holding someone’s head while they are throwing up because they’re drunk and telling me they love me between retchings, I think I’ll pass…

