Just a few comments on the events of the past couple of days…

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday

I have today off, and tried to put it to good use. Going to the gym, playing nursemaid to my sick wife, cleaning up the blog. But regardless, there is a reason for this holiday – Civil Rights.

Unfortunately, Civil Rights is being confused with Diversity. Rather than go into a long dissertation, I would like to quote from an earlier post:

Government sponsored quotas & regulations will not change people’s attitudes toward diversity. All these will do is promote division, dissension, and resentment. I have noticed in recent years an increase of these attitudes. This is NOT what Martin Luther King had in mind.

His vision looked for the Negro people to stand side by side with the White people as equals, and to get there by self-sufficiency, not by a government mandate. He wanted his people to rise up to their potential, to stand on their own two feet, not by some law or subsidy. Patronage of the Negro was not his vision, but to join the human race as equals to any other ethnic group, to enjoy the fruits of hard labor through equal opportunity, and not through quotas…

Diversity is for everyone, not just for one group of people, and is to have people look and treat each other with respect and civility. Civil Rights is the legal position that everyone is to be treated equally under the law.

New England Patriots & New York Giants in Superbowl

In two weeks, these teams will meet in the next Superbowl. I’m leaning toward the Patriots to win and complete a perfect season, but I think the Giants will put up a good fight & make it interesting. The Colts didn’t make it this year, but at least there will be a Manning in the big show. I hope the commercials will be good…

Blog Comments & Links

The comments from Tom’s Common Sense have been moved over to this blog from the Haloscan database (although they are messy), and the internal links have been fixed. I’m not sure if or when the comments will be cleaned up (Gravitar notes, non-working Homepage) on this blog or not, which leads to…

Possibility of Moving the Blog (Again!!)

I’m seriously considering moving the blog to an independent server. Being limited to the standard WordPress themes just doesn’t give me the ability to change things around to the way I would like to present the blog. Thus, some exploring is being done.

At the moment, I have a test blog (which may be the place) set up at Tom’s Place. I’m experimenting, so the site will change from time to time as I try things out. And yes, some of the themes that I’m trying look a lot like the Common Sense blog. Please stop by on occasion & let me know what you think, and if you can connect to the site.

